Mar 2015 : Report of Post Graduate Quiz

K S Hegde Auditorium, Mangaluru


K S Hegde Medical academy, Nitte University, Mangalore in association with Indian association of Pathologists and Microbiologists, Karnataka Chapter(KCIAPM- Bangalore) and KCIAPM- South Canara Unit have organized IV annual State level postgraduate Quiz on 13th, March 2015 at K.S.Hegde Auditorium, Mangaluru. This was first of its kind in South Canara district. 33 teams from 17 different medical colleges have participated. Dr Chatura KR, Professor of Pathology, JJM Medical College, Davangare was the quiz master. Preliminary round was written questions comprising 75 MCQs and 25 fill in the blank type questions. Participants were very much enthusiastic in preliminary round. Based on performance of preliminary round, top 6 colleges were chosen for final round. Teams from ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore,  Bangalore medical college and research center, Bangalore, Karnataka Institute of medical sciences, Hubli, K S Hegde Medical Academy, Mangalore, Yenepoya medical college, Mangalore and Belgaum institute of medical sciences, Belgaum were the finalists.

Final rounds were started after the tea break. Dr Chatura KR, Quiz master took over the proceedings of the finals. Final rounds comprised of 6rounds with Her/his-story round, Add on round, Pop ups, Gross google, Rapid Whats app? and Tab round. There was close competetion between the final teams. Each round had audience questions. Last round for top 3teams was rapid fire with 10questions targeted at the each teams. In the end, ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore emerged as the winners. K S Hegde Medical Academy, Mangalore and Bangalore medical college and research center, Bangalore has bagged the second and third prize respectively. Final round was witnessed by 100 post graduates and consultant pathologists.

For the prize distribution or valedictory function, Dr Satheesh Kumar Bhandary, Dean, K S Hegde Medical Academy, Dr Ramadas Naik, Professor & HOD of Pathology, Yenepoya Medical College, mangalore and President, KCIAPM- Bangalore, Dr Reba Philippose, President, KCIAPM-SK unit, Dr Chatura KR, Quiz master, Dr Jayaprakash Shetty K, Professor & Head of Pathology, Registrar(KSHEMA), the organizing chairman and Dr Kishan Prasad HL, the rganizing secretary were present in this occasion. Prizes were distributed to the winners. First prize comprised rolling Trophy, Rs 5000/- and the certificates were distribuated to Dr. Padmapriya Kasukurti and Dr. Radha M of ESICMC & PGIMSR of Bangalore. Second prize comprising  Rs. 3,000/- with certificates was distributed to Dr. Nethra M Sajjan and Dr.Kiran H.S of K.S. Hegde Medical Academy Mangaluru. Third prize comprising Rs. 2000/- and certifiates were issued to Dr. Pradeep Kumar & Dr. Sujaya Mazumdar of Bangalore Medical College and Reasearch Centre, Bangalore.  It was very much emphasized to have many more programs of this nature to create interest among the post graduates in the fast growing medical field. Dr Jayaprakash shetty K, Organizing Chairman  conducted the proceedings of prize distribution ceremony and Dr Ramadas Naik delivered the vote of thanks.

In future, we would like to have many more such events, which will benefit the students to gain more interest in pathology. We are sincerly thanking KCIAPM – Bangalore for their support and giving us the opportunity to host this event.


It has been suggested for the maximum number of participation, PG quiz progremme may be rescheduled to the month December or January. If the date can not be changed, the quiz programme may be ristricted Ist year and IInd year  PG’s only. Necessory amendments for these  may be done in the GBM of KCIAPM after the consensus.