Report of Under Graduate Quiz

An organizing committee was formed to co-ordinate various jobs involved in the event). Programme was conducted as per schedule.36 teams each consisting of 2 undergraduates (MBBS phase-II) from 18 Karnataka State Medical Colleges participated in the event.  Total numbers of participants were – 72.

Most of the participants from far off places who had come on previous day were provided accommodation by the management.

Registration was started at 8 am. After the breakfast, a preliminary qualifying written examination of MCQ pattern was conducted from 9.15am –10.15am. Answer papers were then coded and assessment was made by the qualified staff from various medical colleges, who attend the Pathology Quiz.

6 teams who scored maximum were selected for the final oral quiz.  When 2 teams qualified from same college, the best team was selected from that college.

The following were  the 6 teams selected for the final round

Team College Names of the participants
A Adichunchanagiri institute of medical sciences Jayalakshmi s

Chandrashekara M N

B Bangalore medical college, Bangalore Puneet kumar Choudary

Rashmi K N

C Basaveshwara medical college , Chitradurga Eti Isha

Shivendra Kumar

D Mandya institute of medical sciences, Mandya Arun S

Pratap HJ

E Belgaum institute of medical sciences, Belgaum Bibi Ayesha Pathan

G Raja

F JJM Medical college, Davanagere Rashmi Mani

Mehak Segal

Inauguration of the quiz was held from 10.30- 11.30 am. The function was presided by poojya sri sri Nirmalanandanatha swamiji. The chief guest of the day was Dr N Jayaram, President of KCIAPM. The other dignitaries were Dr MG shivaramu, Principal AIMS, Dr Shivanna, Medical superintendent, AHRC, Dr Y K Kalegowda organizing chairman & Dr Vijay Shankar S, Secretary, KCIAPM.

The quiz masters of the day were Dr Amita K, Assistant professor of Pathology & Dr Vijay shankar s , Associate Professor of Pathology.

Prior announcement of Rules and Regulations was made Unanswered questions were passed to audience and a token prize was given to person who answered it.
Quiz was conducted in 6 rounds
Round 1: Direct Question and answer
Round 2: Morphology: gross and micro
Round 3: hematology
Round 4: History
Round 5: General pathology
Round 6: rapid fire round
There was a  tough competition between all the teams. finally the following teams emerged winners.  The winners were rewarded with a running trophy.  All the finalists were awarded certificates along with a text book of hematology.  Cash award of rs 3000, 2000, & 1000 were given to 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners respectively
The following were the winners

Prize Team College Names of the participants
1st Prize Team B Bangalore medical college, Bangalore Puneet kumar Choudary

Rashmi K N

2nd Prize Team A Adichunchanagiri institute of medical sciences, BG Nagara Jayalakshmi s

Chandrashekara M N

3rd Prize Team E Belgaum Institute of Medical Sciences, Belgaum Bibi Ayesha Pathan

G Raja

The prizes were distributed by Dr M G Shivaramu, Prinicpal AIMS, which was followed by an informal valedictory ceremony.

The participants and the visiting dignitaries appreciated the smooth and orderly conduct of the Quiz programme