Sept 2015 : Report of VIII Annual State Level KCIAPM Undergraduate Pathology Quiz

Shri Dharmasthala College of Medical Sciences & Hospital, Dharwad

The VIII Annual State Level  KCIAPM Undergraduate Pathology Quiz was organized by the Dept of Pathology, Shri Dharmasthala College of Medical Sciences & Hospital, Dharwad on  26 Sept 2015.

A total of 42 team from 21 colleges were represented with the total participants being 84.  Though that day was    a total  Karnataka bandh,  there was no drop outs as we had in anticipation asked the participants to reach Dharwad by the previous evening and accommodation was provided at subsidized rates.  Also as no conveyances were available for the participants reaching in the morning,  buses were provided to pick them up from station  and bus stands.

 The breakfast was from 8.15 to 9 am. The Quiz started at 9 am.   The Organizing Secretary Dr Anita Sajjanar read out the instructions for the first round “ Elimination Round” consisting of  60 MCQs to be answered in 60 minutes.

The first six teams based on the performance in this round was to be selected.  For the Sixth place there was a tie and hence for the tie breakers was decided by selecting the team which had the maximum correct answers in the first 20 questions. This was conducted by Dr Vidisha  Athanikar, Prof of Pathology.

The Formal Inauguration of the Quiz was than held with Dr Col U S Dinesh welcoming the participants followed by the Lighting the lamp.

Inauguration of the event.

The final rounds were held from 12.00 to 1.30 pm.

The Six rounds consisted of The 1.  History Round by  Dr Hephizibha Rani, 2 Clue and Diagnosis  by Dr Parinita S. S,  3.  Cross word Round by Dr Poornima, Kamatar  4   Flow Charts and Sequences by Dr Col US Dinesh HOD ,  5 Moecular round by Dr Aneel Myageri Addl Professor and the final rapid Fire by Dr Deepak Kanabur Professor. All rounds were interesting  with different types of questions, points and clues for each round. Dr Veena Mane was the Official scorer as well as the time keeper.

History Round by  Dr Hephizibha Rani

Cross word Round by Dr Poornima, Kamatar

The final round was a rapid fire round were each team was tested for questions for 1 minute for a maximum of 10 questions.

The final rapid Fire by Dr Deepak Kanabur Professor.

The first place was clear winner with a total of 180 points won by ESI CMS&PGIMSR Bengaluru represented by Miss Vaishnavi S and Miss Vaibhavi B Shetty. However there was a tie for the next between Bangalore Medical College and Belgaum Medical College. The tie breaker was decided by asking 5 questions on “How well you know your Text Book”  The Second place went to Bangalore Medical College, team No 24 represented by Miss A.K.S. Thariani and Miss Rajeshwari Bhat  who scored 170 points and third to Belgaum Medical College represented by  Mr  G Raja and Mr Yallaling S. who  scored 150.

The winners:  ESI CMS&PGIMSR Bengaluru represented by Miss Vaishnavi S and Miss Vaibhavi B Shetty.

All the winners

The interest  for the audience was kept alive as each round had a audience question which had active participation with prizes distributed thereafter.

Prinicipal Dr J V Chowti distributed the prizes which consisted of cash awards as follows:

1. ESIC Medical College Bangalore;  Rs 2500 each

2.Bangalore Medical College           Rs 1500 each

3.Belgaum Institute of Medical Sciences.        Rs 1000 each.

The first place winners secured the Rolling trophy .

The prize distribution was followed by a working lunch.

A hearty vote of thanks was than proposed by the Organising Secretary Dr Anita  Sajjanar.

The final selected teams for the next 6 rounds were

1 BMC, Bengaluru, Team No 23
2 ESI Bengaluru, Team 28
3 BMC Bengaluru, Team No 24
4 KS Hegde Medical College, Mangaluru, Team No 12
5 BIMS Belgaum, Team No 9
6 JJMC, Davangere, Team No 13